It can be super easy to forget that you need to renew your driver’s license. In Texas, the fines for driving without a valid license for the first time can be up to $200. You should still keep an eye on the expiration date to renew your driver’s license even if you don’t use it. Otherwise, you have to apply for a new license if your Texas driver’s license has been expired for longer than two years. Thus, we wrote this article containing all the necessary information about the Texas DMV license renewal guide.
When to Renew your Driver’s License in Texas?
Texas driver’s licenses expire on the license holder’s date of birth. The age of the license holder will determine how long this license is valid.
- If the license holder is under 18 years old, the license expires on their 18th birthday.
- If the license holder is between 18 and 84 years of age, the license is valid for 6 years.
- If the license holder is over 85 years old, the license is valid for 2 years.
- The temporary Driver’s license is valid for the duration of your legal stay or 1 year.
The DPS will send a renewal notice to you via mail 6 weeks before the expiration of your driver’s license. However, it’s still your responsibility to renew even if you do not receive a notice.
If you are over 18 years old and would like to prepare in advance, you will be allowed to renew your license 1 year before its expiration. Whose driver’s licenses have expired for more than 2 years will need to go to any driver’s license office in person to apply for a new license.
Is there a grace period for an expired driver’s license in Texas?
It’s very crucial to renew your Texas DMV license before its expiration because Texas will not grant you a grace period. In other words, your driver’s license will no longer be valid after its expiration date! Please remember to carry your driver’s license with you all time while driving. Driving without a license or with an expired license is against the law.
What do I need to take to renew my license in Texas?
To renew your Texas DMV license, you’ll need to submit the following valid documents:
Proof of identity
You must provide your original or certified copies of documents, photocopies are not accepted.
This document must be issued by a government agency or an institution from a US territory, a US state, a Canadian province or the District of Columbia.
Proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Presence
If you are a US Citizen and have presented this documentation to the Department, you may skip this section and proceed to Section 3. If you hold a Limited-Term Texas driver’s license, you will be required to submit updated evidence of lawful presence. Most of the documents will be verified through the US Department of Homeland Security’s SAVE Program. The process is usually instant, but otherwise, may be delayed up to 30 days.
Proof of Social Security Number (SSN)
You will be required to confirm your social security number. You must provide documents to verify your social security number if the number is not already part of your driver record.
How do I renew my Texas drivers license?
The Texas DPS allows you to renew your driver’s license in many ways. If you have received an invitation, you can renew online, by phone, or by mail. If not, you will have to renew in person at your local DPS office. Now, we will go through all of the different options below.
If you plan to renew your Texas MCV license in person, you’ll need to complete the following steps:
1. Make sure that you’re eligible to renew your driver’s license. You can not renew if your record has outstanding warrants or fines or if your license is suspended or revoked.
2. Fill out the application form.
3. Make an appointment at the local DPS office.
4. Present your application form, social security number, proof of identity and proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful presence.
5. Pass the Vision Exam
If you are over 79 years old or have any physical or mental problems that could affect your ability to drive safely, you may be asked to take an additional Texas driving test as well as written tests.
6. Provide thumbprints.
7. Take the driver’s license photo.
8. Pay the required fees.
This is your only option if it has been more than 2 years since your license expired. You will receive a temporary paper license which is valid for 60 days if the location doesn’t print on-site. Your new license will arrive in your mailbox within that timeframe.
Requirements for Renew Online, by Phone, or via Mail
If you meet the following conditions, you can renew your driver’s license remotely:
1. You renewed your driver’s license in person at the driver’s license office last time.
2. Your driver’s license is Class C, M or CM. You can not renew a Class A, B, or commercial driver’s license online.
3. Your driver’s license expires in less than 2 years or has been expired for less than 2 years.
4. You are at least 18 years old and your driver’s license has full of privileges.
5. You are under 79 years old.
6. Your vision, mental, and physical conditions have not changed in a way affecting your ability to drive safely since your last renewal.
7. Your record has no outstanding warrants or fines and your license is not suspended or revoked.
8. Your Social Security Number is already on record.
9. You are a U.S. citizen.
10. You are able to provide the audit number from your card or answer security questions to verify your identity.
You will need to prepare your driver’s license, a valid credit card, the last four digits of your SSN and a printer or email address on hand.
1. Visit the TXapps webpage.
2. Verify your identity.
3. Review your license information.
4. Pay the required fee with a Mastercard, Visa, Discover, or American Express logo debit or credit card.
5. Print the receipt and temporary paper license, this paper license is good for 60 days. Your license will arrive in your mailbox in 2-3 weeks. If you can not print out the paper id right away, you can send it to your email. However, you MUST print out the paper id for it to be valid.
Renewal by Phone
If renewing your driver’s license by phone, you can get started by calling 1-866-DL RENEW (1-866-357-3639). You need to prepare your current license, a valid credit card, and the last four digits of your SSN on hand.
You will NOT receive a temporary paper license if you renew by phone. Make sure to renew your Texas DMV license at least a month before it expires if you plan to drive. This will give plenty of time for your new license to come in the mail.
Renewal by Mail
If you are eligible to renew your Texas DMV license by mail, you will receive an email notification a few weeks before your current license expires. If you receive an invitation, you’ll need to complete everything in the instructions and mail the package to the invitation’s address. With this method, you will not receive a temporary paper license. Make sure to renew 4-6 weeks in advance to allow enough time for your license to come in your mail if you plan to drive.
Out of State Texas DMV License Renewal By Mail
If you are a resident of the state of Texas and currently live out of state, you may renew via mail and you’ll need to complete the following steps:
1. Complete and sign on the Out of State DL-43 and RIS-50 Forms.
2. Answer questions 1 through 11.
3. Write down your home address.
4. Write down your current out-of-state address.
5. Provide Proof of Social Security if the DPS does not have your number on file.
6. Provide Proof of Lawful Status if you are not permanent residents or U.S. Citizens.
7. Vision Exam is required only if you’ve had any traffic tickets during the past four (4) years.
8. Have the option of Registering to Vote.
9. Send payment for the cost to the following address:
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
P O BOX 15999
AUSTIN TX 78761-5999
Then your license will be sent via email no later than 45 days.
Texas DMV License Renewal for Military Members, Spouses and Dependents
If you are an active-duty military member, spouse, or dependent and you are stationed outside the state of Texas, your Texas driver’s license or identification card will automatically renew unless your driver’s license has been suspended, revoked or canceled.
If you want to renew your Texas DMV license when it has not expired or has not been expired for more than two years, please follow the instructions for the Out-of-State Renewal process.
You may also renew your driver’s license if it has been expired for more than 2 years and you are on active duty or recently discharged within the previous 90 days, a dependent, or spouse. You need to include the following documentation for processing:
1. An Out-of-State or Out-of-Country Packet.
2. The address field is the Texas address appearing on your driver’s license.
3. The mailing address field is the current address you want your license mailed to.
4. A completed application (DL-14A) for a Texas driver’s license.
5. If available, a photocopy of your expired driver’s license.
6. Front and back of color photocopy of your Military Identification Card.
7. Federal law allows copying your Military Identification Card when you provide it to a governmental entity.
8. Your normal signature is in black ink on a blank piece of paper.
9. A certified copy of your birth certificate.
10. Proof of Texas Residency.
11. Proof of Social Security Number.
12. An Eye Specialist examination.
13. The appropriate renewal fee.
To remain an expired driver’s license valid, please carry your military identification card and Texas driver’s license with you when driving.
Note that only active-duty military personnel and those discharged within the previous 90 days, dependents and spouses are eligible to renew your Texas DMV license that has expired for more than two years.
A new driver’s license will be sent to your mailbox within 45 days after the Department receives the request.
How much does it cost to renew your license in Texas?
The Texas DPS provides renewal fees for any kind of license.
- Age 18-84: $33
- Age 18-84 with motorcycle: $44
- Age 85+: $9
- Disabled Veteran (60%): Free
We expect this article to help you learn about renewing your driver’s license in Texas. We provide you with a perfect study resource to help you refresh the rules of the road in a quick and easy manner, from that help you stay safe on the roads. In addition, if you want to obtain the new license, you may take several DMV practice tests to be familiar with the format as well as questions that are close to the actual test.
CDL home seo content
The Ultimate Guide For You To Renew Driver's License In GA
You have to renew your license to continue driving in Georgia. In this article, we provide you with the detailed process to renew driver's license in GA.
The Most Ultimate Guide To Maryland Tickets Payment In 2022
When you get a traffic ticket, you might be wondering how you'll pay for it. We'll teach you some options for Maryland tickets payment and other related information on this page.