maryland tickets payment

The Most Ultimate Guide To Maryland Tickets Payment In 2022

When you get a traffic ticket, you might be wondering how you'll pay for it. We'll teach you some options for Maryland tickets payment and other related information on this page.

January 11, 2022

You’re driving down the highway, oblivious to the speed limit, until you look behind. Those flashing red lights are aimed at you, the driver who is suspected of breaking traffic laws. When you get a traffic ticket, you might be wondering how you’ll pay for it. We’ll teach you some options for Maryland tickets payment and other related information on this page.

To avoid unnecessary fines when driving on the road, it’s essential to gain solid knowledge through taking our MVA permit practice test.

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Maryland?

If you get a payable traffic ticket with no potential of jail time, you must take one of the four (4) activities listed below within 30 days:

Option 1: Pay the full amount and enter a plea of “guilty”

  • Pay Maryland ticket online
  • To make a payment over the phone, dial (800) 492-2656.
  • Make the payment via mail by sending a check to:

                  Traffic Processing Center of the District Court

                  6676 P.O. Box

                  21401 Annapolis, MD

  • Pay in person at any District Court in your area.
  • Pay at your local Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) office using the Maryland Uniform Traffic Citation Payment Kiosk.

maryland tickets payment

Option 2 (NEW): If you have at least $150 in total unpaid penalties and are otherwise qualified, you may request to enter into a payment plan under 7–504.1 of the Courts Article

For each infraction for which a payment plan is sought, check “request a Payment Plan,” sign, date at the bottom of the ticket, and mail the document as soon as possible to the address indicated.

Option 3: Request a waiver hearing to enter a plea of “guilty with an explanation”

On the ticket, mark the box that says “Request a Waiver Hearing”

  • The ticket must be signed and dated
  • Send your traffic ticket to the Traffic Processing Center of the District Court

                  6676 P.O. Box

                  21401 Annapolis, MD.

Option 4: Request a trial to enter a “not guilty” plea

  • On the ticket, find out the “Request a Trial” box
  • The ticket must be signed and dated
  • The ticket should be mailed to District Court Traffic Processing Center

                  P.O. Box 6676

                  Annapolis, MD 21401.

What happens if I lose my ticket?

If you misplaced your ticket, fill out the Lost or Missing Citation Option Form (DR-490) and choose one of the three choices listed above. If you plead guilty or the court finds you guilty of the violation, the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration may award points on your license.

If you do not answer within 30 days, the District Court will contact the Motor Vehicle Administration, which will begin the process of suspending your driver’s license. You must appear in court for a trial if the police officer does not check “This is a payable citation” on your traffic ticket (for example, in a DUI case). The court will send you a summons with the date of your trial.

Read more >> The Ultimate Guide To Maryland MVA Change Of Address In 2022

What happens when you go to traffic court?

The District Court will provide you a date to appear in court if you asked for a waiver hearing or trial.

Waiver Hearing

You can ask the judge to lower or waive your fine during a waiver hearing. You can also request probation instead of a conviction from the court. There’s a chance your fine will be raised, up to a maximum of $500. You have the option of explaining why you committed the offense or extenuating circumstances to the judge.

Trial

Your ticket’s issuing officer will testify, and you will have the opportunity to offer your side of the event. You have the option of presenting witness testimony or other proof. The date, time, and location of your trial must be communicated to your witnesses. You can hire a lawyer to represent you if you choose. The judge will determine whether you are guilty or not guilty after hearing all of the evidence.

You have 30 days from the date of your trial to file an appeal if the court finds you guilty. Filing an appeal entails non-refundable court fees.

If you change your mind and decide not to go to court, you can pay the fine at any time before your court date to avoid appearing in court.

If you fail to show up for your court date, the District Court will contact the Motor Vehicle Administration, which will begin the process of suspending your driver’s license.

What is the average length of a trial or hearing?

maryland tickets payment

The length of your trial or hearing will depend on the number of cases scheduled in your county. Many courts are attempting to cut down on the amount of time you spend in traffic court by scheduling cases hourly.

What happens if I am called a witness?

If you get a Notification to Appear as a Witness in a Traffic Case, the notice will include the date, time, and court location. The day before the trial, call the court to make sure the matter is still on the docket. If you are unable to attend on the planned day, tell the court in writing by mail at least one week before the scheduled date. Include the citation number, defendant’s name, trial date and place, a brief explanation of why you will not be there, your name, and your daytime phone number.

Pleas

What are different pleas?

You can plead “guilty” or “not guilty” in District Court cases. There is no “innocent” plea. When you enter a guilty plea, the charge becomes part of your permanent record. The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may add points to your license if you get a traffic ticket.

You can plead “guilty with an explanation” and appear for a hearing in traffic cases. Because of extenuating circumstances, you have the option to explain to the judge why you committed the violation and seek that your fine is lowered or dismissed, or that you be given probation instead of a conviction at the hearing. Your fine may be reduced at the judge’s discretion.

There’s a chance your fine will be raised, up to a maximum of $500. You have the right to appeal if the judge returns a guilty verdict. Filing an appeal entails non-refundable court fees. If you want to enter a “not guilty” plea, you must seek and appear for a trial in front of the officer and any witnesses.

Verdicts

When a jury or a judge renders a verdict, the actual decision is either “guilty” or “not guilty.” There is no “innocent” verdict. A defendant might be regarded as acquitted if he or she is found “not guilty.” The fact that the prosecution failed to show guilt beyond a reasonable doubt is reflected in a verdict of “not guilty.” Other than “not guilty” and “guilty” verdicts, the following are common case resolutions:

  • Nolle Pros. The State decides to dismiss the case and dismisses the charge
  • Suspension of the prosecution, Stet. The State may restart the case without the requirement to recharge the defendant. A case may be reopened if the defendant is arrested on new charges or fails to comply with an agreed-upon condition within a reasonable period after the stet is entered
  • PBJ stands for “probation before judgment.” In many District Court trials, this is a common resolution. The defendant is either found guilty or enters a guilty plea. The final entry of judgment is, however, technically stayed. This allows the defendant to seek that his record is expunged upon successful fulfillment of the probationary conditions.

Certified Records

maryland tickets payment

The Motor Vehicle Authority is in charge of driver’s licenses and records. To get certified traffic citation records, copies of tickets, charge documents, and other documentation, contact: 1-800-492-2656 or 410-260-1093, District Court Traffic Processing Center

Red Light and Speed Monitoring Citations

How can I make a complaint against a red light or speed camera traffic camera, and where do I do it?

The red light, speed, school bus, and electronic toll cameras are placed and/or operated at the expense and direction of the locality or municipality, or, if on a state highway or toll facility, by the Maryland Transportation Authority or the Department of State Police. Complaints concerning the cameras’ position or functioning should be submitted to the address shown on the citation. In most situations, this is the police or state agency’s address.

Please note that these citations are not found on the Judiciary’s Case Search, and if a ticket is lost, you should contact the local jurisdiction where you received the ticket, the Maryland State Police if the violation occurred on a state highway, or the Maryland Transportation Authority if the violation occurred on a toll highway.

If I am found guilty of red light, speeding, school bus monitoring, or electronic toll violation camera citation, would I receive points?

“Payment of the penalty amount for the violation will not result in points and cannot be utilized to enhance your insurance rates,” according to the red light, speed monitoring, school bus monitoring, and electronic toll violation penalties.

What are the functions of these red light, speed, school bus, and toll violation cameras?

The cameras used in red light, speed monitoring, school bus, and electronic toll traffic systems are made by a variety of vendors. For further information on how these cameras work, contact the local police department in the municipality where the camera is placed, or the Maryland State Police or Maryland Transportation Authority if the camera is on a state roadway or toll facility.

FAQs – Maryland tickets payment

How do I know when I’m suspended?

All motor vehicle records, including outstanding suspensions, are kept by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. Call (800) 950-1MVA (out of state (410) 768-7000) to reach the MVA.

What happens if I can not pay for my traffic tickets?

A Traffic Violation(s) Installment Payment Plan may be available to those who have unpaid traffic fines of $150.00 or more and whose driver’s license or driving privilege is suspended or may be suspended.

Can I pay my citation without going to court?

Some types of traffic violations can be resolved without having to go to court. Signing a “waiver” of rights form, which is sometimes written on the back of the ticket, is one way to do so. You can either submit it to the court together with the fine and court expenses, or you can sign it and pay the fine at the Clerk of the Court’s office. However, there are disadvantages to doing things this way: you’ll end up paying the biggest fine possible, and your insurance premiums are likely to rise. If you go to court and plead guilty, though, there’s a good possibility the judge may lower your fine.

The above information is about Maryland tickets payment and other useful information which you may help with when you receive a Maryland traffic ticket. Thank you for reading!

Don’t forget to take our free DMV practice test to strengthen your knowledge and stay safe on the road.