The GLS (Graduated Licensing System) is a program in Maryland that requires novice drivers to obtain driving experience under the supervision of an experienced driver. It supports the development of safe driving abilities by putting restrictions in place at each stage of the licensing process. As a rookie driver, this reduces your chances of getting involved in an automobile accident.
Are you getting ready to obtain a provisional license in Maryland? Then you’ve arrived at the right place. We understand that the process appears to be difficult, but it does not have to be.
We’ll break down everything you need to know about how to obtain a provisional license in Maryland in this tutorial to make it as simple as possible.
Let’s get started with our free DMV practice test to get your highest score in your license exam.
What is a provisional license used for?
In July 1999, the Maryland Graduated Licensing System (GLS) went into effect. Its purpose is to guide drivers through many levels of licensing, allowing them to get more experience behind the wheel while being supervised by a fully qualified driver. The GLS governs the Rookie Driver program, which established the license levels.
Between the Type 1 Learner’s Permit and a full driver’s license, the Maryland provisional license is the second step in the Rookie Driver program. Drivers with a Maryland Learner’s Permit cannot advance straight to a full driver’s license in Maryland, according to state law. They must first get a Provisional License.
There are three types of drivers who have to obtain a provisional license in Maryland:
- New Drivers: Anyone who has received and completed the Type-1 Learner’s Permit requirements
- Out-of-State Driver: If you moved to Maryland from another state and haven’t been driving for more than 18 months, you’re an out-of-state driver
- Out-of-Country Driver: If you’re moving to Maryland from another nation and haven’t been driving for more than 18 months, you’re an out-of-country driver.
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration can help you get a provisional license. You’ll find all the information you need on this page, including the locations of every MVA office across the state.
Do you have to renew your provisional?
The MD provisional license has an automatic expiration date that is determined by your age.
- Drivers under the age of 21: Your driver’s license will expire 60 days after you turn 21
- Drivers above the age of 21: Your driver’s license will expire eight years after your birthday.
What are the requirements to obtain a provisional license in Maryland?
You must meet the following requirements before applying for a provisional license.
- The age requirement is 16 years and 6 months
- Pass a standardized driving education course certified by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA). Other state-issued driver education certificates are ineligible
- A competent supervising driver must complete and sign a practice skills log
What is the Practice Skills Log?
A provisional license applicant’s practice skills log is a document that covers 60 hours of supervised driving. The supervised driving necessary to complete the practice skills log must be done with a licensed driver who meets the requirements. This might be a parent, a guardian, or a qualified driving instructor.
Ten hours must be performed at night out of the total of 60 hours. New drivers should have some night, morning, and dusk driving practice. Between the hours of 30 minutes before sunset and 30 minutes after sunrise, these 10 hours must be documented.
What are the rules of driving with a provisional license?
There are a few laws and limits that come with a provisional license that you should be aware of.
If you are under the age of 18, you must adhere to a tight driving curfew: provisional license holders under the age of 18 are not permitted to drive between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m. It’s also illegal to talk on your phone while driving, even if you’re using a hands-free device. Furthermore, you may not drive with non-family members under the age of 18 without being supervised by a licensed supervising driver; however, if you have no infractions on your record, this limitation will expire after 151 days.
You may not drive if you are under the age of 21 and have any amount of alcohol in your system. Impaired driving regulations must be followed by older drivers.
Finally, the driver and all passengers must always use a seatbelt or a harness.
Are there exceptions to the Maryland provisional license restrictions?
There are five exceptions to the rules:
- The driver is on his way to, from, or doing official work obligations
- The driver is on his way to or from an official school activity
- The driver is on his way to or from a formal volunteer program
- The driver is on his way to or from a sporting event or a training session
- A licensed driver with at least 3 years of driving experience and at least 21 years of age follows the driver.
When you have your full Maryland driver’s license, these limits and restrictions will be removed.
What happens if you get points on your provisional license?
If you are convicted of a moving offense while driving with a Maryland provisional license, you will face not only the usual fines and penalties but also extra licensing sanctions. Additionally, the time limit for obtaining a complete driver’s license will be reset.
For each moving infraction, you can expect the following consequences.
- 1st Moving Violation Conviction: You will be obliged to take a driver improvement course
- 2nd Moving Violation Conviction: Your license will be suspended for 30 days
- 3rd Moving Violation Conviction: Your license will be suspended for 180 days and may be revoked based on the severity of the offense. If you acquire another infraction after your third conviction, your license may be revoked.
How long do you wait for a provisional driving license?
In Maryland, you must drive for a minimum of 18 months with a provisional license with no moving violations. If you get a moving violation, your 18-month period will start over.
After the 18-month period has passed, your license will be automatically updated.
What are the rules of driving with a provisional license If you’re over the age of 25?
If you are over the age of 25, the restrictions are different. You’ll still need a Maryland learner’s permit if you’ve never had a driver’s license before.
After 45 days of driving under your permit, you are entitled to take a Maryland road test if you have never had a moving violation. You must satisfy the following requirements within those 45 days.
- Complete a 30-hour classroom and 6-hour behind-the-wheel driving education program certified by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration.
- At least 14 hours of supervised driving must be completed, with three of those hours taking place at night and at dawn and sunset.
- Completion of the Practice Skills Log is required.
Do you have to pay for your provisional Licence in Maryland?
To obtain a provisional license in Maryland, you could pay the following fee:
- The minimum fee is $150.00
- $150.00 for the first 30 days
- After 30 days, $7.00 per day
- The maximum annual charge is $2,500.00.
How do I change my provisional license to full in Maryland?
When you have completed all of the criteria for a provisional license and have retained it for the minimum time period required, the MVA will automatically convert your license to full driver’s privileges. You will receive an attached card showing the conversion, which should be kept with your provisional license. You will receive a new license after renewing your old one, and you will no longer require the attachment.
Provisional License Requirements for Drivers With Other State or Country Licenses:
Drivers with fewer than 18 months of experience and a license from another state or nation are subject to special rules, regardless of age.
- The provisional license must be held for the minimum time periods indicated below and cannot be canceled because of a traffic infraction conviction:
- Drivers who have had their license for less than six months must hold a Maryland provisional license for at least 18 months and be free of convictions
- Drivers with a six-to-twelve-month license must hold a Maryland provisional license for 12 months and be free of convictions
- Drivers who have been licensed for 12 to 18 months must possess a Maryland provisional license for 6 months and have no convictions.
- You must restart an 18-month period with no more moving violations if you are convicted of a moving offense, regardless of your age or experience. When the 18 months have passed, you are entitled to convert to a full driver’s license.
FAQs – Frequently Asked Questions
What if you’re pulled over while driving with a provisional license?
Provisional license limitations violations are considered lesser offenses. When minors are pulled over for any other reason, such as speeding, they may be stopped to determine whether they are breaching their license limitations. The officer may then issue two traffic tickets: one for speeding and the other for breaking the licensing limitations.
Is it possible to buy a car with a provisional driver’s license?
Yes, you don’t need a driver’s license to buy a car, and there are no age limitations. You’ll need a provisional license, an MOT roadworthiness pass certificate, a vehicle excise license, and insurance to drive it on the road.
With a provisional license, can I drive alone?
Previously, drivers with a first, third, or subsequent provisional license were required to have a front-seat passenger with a full driver’s license, while drivers with a second license were allowed to drive alone. Second provisional license holders will now be prohibited from driving alone under the new rule.
What does having a provisional license imply?
A provisional license is one that comes with certain restrictions. A provisional instruction permit is another name for it. They were also known as a learner’s permit informally. You can only drive with a licensed adult 25 years of age or older if you have a provisional driver’s license.
What is the duration of a provisional license?
The next step in the Rookie Driver graduated licensing system is a provisional license. To get a provisional license, you must pass the Maryland driving skills exam. The driver obtains experience in the provisional phase by driving without supervision but with restrictions.
To prepare for your exam, it’s extremely for you to take the MVA permit practice test to pass your exam with a high score.
Now that you know how to get a temporary license in Maryland, you can get started. We hope that this guide has been useful and that you are now confident in taking the next stages.
UT Utah License Renewal: A 2023 Comprehensive Guide
Discover the ultimate guide to Utah license renewal! This comprehensive guide delves into the intricacies of renewing your driver's license in Utah,...
February 13, 2023
South Carolina S.C. Driver's License Renewal
The South Carolina S.C. driver's license renewal process is designed to be comprehensive, taking into consideration eligibility requirements, renewal methods,...
February 13, 2023
Pennsylvania PA DMV License Renewal: A 2023 Full Guide
The Pennsylvania PA DMV license renewal process is designed to be comprehensive, taking into consideration eligibility requirements, renewal methods,...
February 10, 2023