header bg

Question:

Which of the following are true about passing on a two-lane road?

A All of the above are true.
Explaination

Before you begin the pass, you must signal to warn other drivers. After you pass, you must return to your lane before coming within 100 feet of any oncoming vehicles. In Minnesota, when you are passing on a two-lane highway with a posted speed limit of 55 mph or higher, you may drive up to 10 mph faster than the posted speed limit to complete the pass. (Note: Many other states do not allow you to exceed the speed limit to pass. When traveling out of state, always check the local traffic laws.) Most importantly, only pass when it is safe to do so. Remember that at a speed of 55 mph, your vehicle and an oncoming vehicle will close a 100-foot distance between them in less than one second – before they collide head-on. [Passing, Chapter 3 Traffic Laws and Vehicle Operation, Minnesota Driver's Manual]