header bg

Question:

If you are convicted of driving at ____ mph over the posted speed limit, PennDOT will require you to appear at a departmental hearing.

A
Explaination

If you are convicted of driving at more than 30 mph over the posted speed limit, PennDOT will require you to appear at a departmental hearing to review your driving record. As a result of the review, the hearing examiner may suspend your driver's license for 15 days, require you to attend a driver improvement school, or require you to pass a special written point examination to keep your driving privileges. You will also have to pay a fine of $42.50 if the posted speed limit was at least 65 mph or $35 otherwise, plus an additional fine equal to $2 for each mph in excess of 5 mph over the posted speed limit. Five points will be added to your driving record. Five is the largest number of points for any single violation. ["The Pennsylvania Point System Fact Sheet," Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, November 2013, http://www.dot.state.pa.us/public/DVSPubsForms/BDL/BDL%20Fact%20Sheets/FS-PS.pdf], [75 Pa. C. S. § 1538], [75 Pa. C. S. § 3362]