Start your 2022 North Carolina DMV practice test now!

North Carolina DMV Practice Test

Free NC DMV Test 2024

A North Carolina driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.

Before you can get a class C license in North Carolina, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official North Carolina DMV only. Our free North Carolina driving test is all based on information available in the NC DMV handbook. We put the free DMV permit test 2024 and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests. Our gamified learning methods and our North Carolina DMV practice test will help you easier to obtain knowledge than just studying the manual.

How many questions are on the North Carolina DMV test?

The North Carolina DMV test consists of 37 questions, of which you have to correctly answer at least 29 questions (78%) to pass the test. 

Is the North Carolina permit test hard?

The North Carolina DMV permit test is not particularly hard if you prepare well for the test. Because the permit test has different categories of questions, the more test you practice, the more materials you can cover. Combining using the NC DMV handbook with our free NC DMV test questions will help you easily achieve your dreaming score.

What’s on the North Carolina DMV written test?

The North Carolina DMV written test covers the North Carolina Driver’s Handbook contents, including some topics such as traffic laws, road rules, road signs and signals, and safe driving practices. Therefore, you should review this book carefully before taking the test. 

Do I have to take an NC DMV test if I move to North Carolina?

If you move to North Carolina and apply for a Class C (general driver’s license), you will be required to take a knowledge test, vision test, and a traffic signs recognization test. Generally, you don’t have to take the driving skills test; still, it will be required if an examiner deems it necessary.

What are the common mistakes on the North Carolina driving test?

The most common mistake on the driving test is rolling stops. In addition, improper lane changing, lack of steering control, distracted driving, confusion at four-way stops, and driving too quickly or slowly are also other common mistakes you need to avoid to pass your North Carolina driving test. 

How many times can I fail the permit test in North Carolina?

If you fail your North Carolina permit test, you can take it again two more times within 90 days without paying an additional fee. However, if you fail the test more than 3 times or wait longer than 90 days, you must pay another fee. 

What documents do I need to get my North Carolina driver’s license?

To obtain a North Carolina driver’s license, you must provide enough of the following documents:

  • Proof of legal status and citizenship
  • Proof of your name and date of birth
  • Proof of identity
  • Provide your Social Security number
  • Real ID information
  • Complete application form
  • Pay the necessary fees

Do I have to parallel parking in a driving test in North Carolina?

Typically, you are not required to parallel parking in the North Carolina road test; still, the examiner may ask you to parallel park in some situations. Even if you’re not asked to perform this skill while taking the North Carolina road test, this is a useful skill that you should learn and practice.

How much does it cost to get a North Carolina driver’s license?

A North Carolina driver’s license is valid for five or eight years, and you have to pay $5 for it annually. A five-year driver’s license will go up to $2.50, and an eight-year driver’s license will go up to $4. 

Can I drive in North Carolina with an out-of-state license?

In North Carolina, you are allowed to operate a vehicle with an out-of-state driver’s license. You also can drive with a learner’s permit from another state; still, you must be at least 16 years old or older. 

How long is the NC DMV test?

The North Carolina road test lasts for about 10-15 minutes, so take your time to successfully pass the test.

To familiarize yourself with the format of the DMV written tests, you can try our North Carolina DMV sample tests here.

See more
cta background
Download the app and start
studying for free today
Download on your mobile device Download mobile app expand_more expand_less