A Kentucky driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.
Before you can get a class C license in Kentucky, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official Kentucky DMV only. Our free Kentucky permit test is all based on information available in the Kentucky driver’s manual. We put the free DMV written test 2021 and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests.
How many questions are on the Kentucky DMV test?
Kentucky DMV test is based on the new Kentucky Driver's Handbook for 2021 and includes 40 multiple-choice questions that are very similar to those found on the real DMV test.
How many questions can you miss on the Kentucky permit test?
To pass the Kentucky learner permit exam, you must correctly answer 24 out of 30 questions. You must also answer no more than two questions correctly in the section on road signs.
Is the Kentucky permit test timed?
The test is not timed, however, most students find that they can complete all of the questions in around five minutes.
Can you take your permit test online in Kentucky?
The Kentucky State Police site has online driving manuals. When you reach 16½ and have had your learner's permit for at least 180 days, you can take the driving test at your local Driver Testing Center.
Can you get your license at 18 without a permit in Kentucky?
If you are between the ages of 18 and 21, you must hold your instruction permit for at least 180 days before applying for your regular Kentucky driver's license. The holding period is reduced to 30 days if you are above the age of 21.
How many times can you take the permit test in KY?
You have 10 days after receiving your permit to schedule a driving skills exam with Kentucky State Police. A permit may only be renewed once every two (2) years.
Can you drive out of state with a Kentucky permit?
Yes. You can drive in Kentucky with your out-of-state learner's permit as long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years old or older. If you move to Kentucky, you will need to apply for a KY permit.
How much does it cost to take a Kentucky driver's license?
A standard driver's license costs $43 for eight years and a voluntary license costs $48. Kentucky has stated that the new identification card design will be available in September. The Commonwealth is one of the last states to comply with federal law.
How much does it cost to renew your Kentucky driver's license?
A standard class D operator license costs $20 to renew. If your license is suspended, you must pay a $40 reinstatement fee.
Can I renew my driver's license online in KY?
Kentucky driver's licenses may now be renewed online. The new online renewals are valid for both "standard" licenses and Real IDs, but you'll still need to visit an office in person to switch to a Real ID.
What happens if your driver's license expires in KY?
Do not drive if your license is now expired. Driving with an expired license will result in a ticket. Driving without a valid license is illegal. If your license has been expired for more than one (1) year, you must retake the Eye Exam and Written Test.
How do I renew my Ky driver’s license?
Follow these steps: