A South Carolina driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.
Before you can get a class C license in South Carolina, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official South Carolina DMV only. Our free South Carolina driving test is all based on information available in the South Carolina driver’s manual. We put the free DMV driving test 2022 and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests. Our gamified learning methods and our South Carolina permit test will help you easier to obtain knowledge than just studying on the manual.
There are 30 questions on the South Carolina written test, of which you have to correctly answer at least 24 questions (80%) to pass the test.
The South Carolina road test requires you to demonstrate some skills such as turning on your headlights and windshield wipers, turning on your turn signals, making lane changes, making right and left turns, parallel parking, and so on. You should practice these maneuvers regularly to pass the test.
The South Carolina written driver’s license test lasts for about 20 to 40 minutes.
The South Carolina DMV written test covers some topics such as road rules, road signs and signals, traffic laws, and driving safety rules. To pass the test, you should review the South Carolina Driver’s Handbook carefully.
An eight-years South Carolina driver’s license costs $25 and a beginner’s permit costs $2.50.
You are not allowed to drive alone with a permit in South Carolina. You can operate a vehicle only when there is a licensed driver seat next to you. In addition, during the time you hold a learner’s permit, you have to complete a South Carolina driver’s education class and receive a PDLA form.
You must wait a week if you fail your South Carolina driving test for the first and second time. However, if you fail the test three times or more, you will have to wait 60 days before you can retake the test.
You must be sufficient of 18 years old to hold a South Carolina driver’s license. However, you can apply for a Beginner’s Permit if you are 15 years of age.
To obtain a South Carolina driver’s license, you must provide enough of the following documents:
The most common mistake on the driving test is rolling stops. In addition, improper lane changing, lack of steering control, distracted driving, confusion at four-way stops, driving too quickly or slowly are also common mistakes you need to avoid to pass the South Carolina driving test.