header bg

Start your 2021 Rhode Island DMV practice test now!

Rhode Island DMV Practice Test

Free Rhode Island drivers test 2021

A Rhode Island driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.

Before you can get a class C license in Rhode Island, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official RI DMV only. Our free RI DMV practice test is all based on information available in the RI driver’s manual. We put the free DMV permit test 2021 and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests. Our gamified learning methods and our RI driving test will help you easier to obtain knowledge than just studying on the manual.

How many questions are on the Rhode Island DMV test?

There are 25 multiple choice questions on the Rhode Island DMV written knowledge test, of which you have to correctly answer at least 20 questions (80%) to pass the test. 

Is the DMV practice test the same as the real test?

The DMV practice tests are basically similar to the actual tests you will see at the DMV. Therefore, to prepare yourself for the test, you should spend time practicing the DMV tests as much as possible. These tests are available online.

Can I drive alone with a permit in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, you are not allowed to drive alone with a permit. You only can drive when there is a licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has at least five years of experience seating next to you. 

What is on the Road Island DMV written test?

The Rhode Island DMV written test covers some topics such as road rules, road signs and signals, driver’s license laws, and driving emergencies. These topics are written in the Rhode Island Driver Handbook, so to pass this test, you should review this book carefully.

What do I need to bring to my road test in Rhode Island?

To obtain a Rhode Island driver’s license, you have to provide 2 proof of residency, proof of a valid Social Security Number, identity documents, and a paid fee. 

What driving maneuvers will be on the Rhode Island road test?

The Rhode Island road test will require you to demonstrate some skills such as reverse 2-point parking, observing right-of-way, stopping quickly, backing up, signal and turn, passing, and following at a safe distance. To successfully pass the test, you should practice these driving skills regularly.

Can I renew my driver’s license online in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island state allows you to renew your driver’s license online with a credit card at any DMV branch location or at a AAA branch office. A renewed license is valid for a maximum of five years. 

At what age can I apply for a driver’s license in Rhode Island?

You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a driver’s license in Rhode Island. Applicants who are between 16 and 18 years old must complete a driver education course which lasts for 33 ½ hours. 

How much does a driver’s license cost in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, drivers who are over the age of 18 have to pay a total of $26.50 to obtain a driver’s license. The fee to renew a five-year driver’s license is $41.50. Drivers who are under 18 years old need to pay $11.50 to get a driver’s license. 

Can I take driver education online in Rhode Island?

The short answer is yes. In Rhode Island, driver education courses are available online.

Can I drive out of state with a Rhode Island permit?

You are not allowed to drive out-of-state with a Rhode Island permit as each state has its own laws and regulations.

See more
cta background
Download the app and start
studying for free today
Download on your mobile device Download mobile app expand_more expand_less
arrow_upward