header bg


When is it legal to make a left turn at a red light?


The following states and territories ban left turns on red: South Dakota (unless permitted by local ordinance), Connecticut, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia. You may make a left turn at a red light if you are turning from the left lane of a one-way street onto another one-way street in other states.