header bg

Question:

Under Rhode Island law, when must you dim your high-beam headlights?

A Whenever you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or following another vehicle within 200 feet
Explaination

Under Rhode Island law, you must dim your high beams whenever you are within 500 feet of an oncoming vehicle or within 200 feet of a vehicle you are following. Avoid shining your high beams on any other occupied vehicle. If you dim your high beams before they can shine on other vehicles, those other drivers may extend you the same courtesy. [Dimming Your Headlights: 500/200 Rule of Dimming Headlights, B. Night Driving, VIII. Sharing the Road Safely, Rhode Island Driver's Manual]