header bg

Question:

If you are convicted of driving uninsured, you must file proof of financial responsibility for the next

A 3 years.
Explaination

In Oregon, driving uninsured is a Class B traffic violation. If you are convicted, you may be fined up to $1,000 and your license will be suspended until you start to file proof of financial responsibility for the next three years. The usual way to do this is to obtain a vehicle liability insurance policy. However, a conviction for uninsured driving establishes you as a high-risk driver. You will need to obtain SR-22 coverage (for which the premiums are likely to be higher) and file an SR-22 form with the DMV each year. ["SR-22 Information"; Oregon DMV; https://www.oregon.gov/ODOT/DMV/pages/driverid/sr22.aspx], [ORS 153.018], [ORS 806.010]