header bg

Question:

A MS driver is convicted of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. If it's a first offense, what will the penalties be?

A All of the above answers
Explaination

Driving with a BAC of 0.08% or higher may result in a conviction for driving under the influence (DUI). The penalties for a first DUI offense include a 120-day license suspension, a fine of between $250 and $1,000, and up to 48 hours in jail. These penalties may be reduced if the driver completes the Mississippi Alcohol Education Safety Program (MASEP). Also, the court may order the installation of an ignition-interlock device (IID) in the driver's vehicle for 120 days instead of the 120-day license suspension. The IID will prevent the vehicle from starting if the driver has consumed alcohol recently. [Driving under the Influence & Implied Consent, Mississippi Driver's Manual]