A Missouri driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.
Before you can get a class C license in Missouri, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official Missouri DMV only. Our free Missouri permit test is all based on information available in the Missouri driver’s manual. We put the free DMV practice test 2023 and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests. Our gamified learning methods and our Missouri driver’s license test will help you easier to obtain knowledge than just studying the manual.
The written exam is designed to assess your knowledge of Missouri traffic laws, safe driving rules, and road signs. The MO DOR exam consists of 25 questions, with a passing score of 20 correct answers (80 percent ).
Taking the Missouri permit test does not have to be difficult. Every question has four potential answers, and you must get at least 80% of the questions right on the written test, or 20 correct answers, to pass.
When the driver reaches the age of 18, he or she may apply for a Full License. To drive legally, you must apply for an Instruction Permit at a Missouri driver’s license office. To apply for an Intermediate License, you must have had an Instruction Permit for at least 6 months.
You fail the exam if you lose more than 30 points. You may try as soon as the following business day. However, if you fail the test three times, you will be unable to retake it without written authorization from the Department of Revenue.
You must keep the instruction permit for a minimum of 182 days (beginning the day after issuance). You may not have had any alcohol-related offenses in the last 12 months, and you may not have had any traffic convictions in the last 6 months.
New Missouri residents and people applying for their first instruction permit or driving license must present the following documents:
In Missouri, you can get your instruction permit at the age of 15, after completing a written test, eye test, road sign test, and providing appropriate forms of ID, as well as paying a $3.50 fee.
A four-part driver examination will be required. A written test, a vision test, a road sign test, and a driving skills test.
An out-of-state permit holder may drive in Missouri provided they are at least 16 years old and follow all of the requirements of their home state’s permit.
A renewed learner’s permit costs $6.50. A non-expired permit can be renewed up to 90 days before it expires; a maximum of two renewals are permitted. A permit renewal transaction can be completed at any DMV branch office.
The standard grace period for renewing a Missouri driver’s license (without having to retest) is six months after the license’s expiration date.
To renew your license, you must go to a driver’s license office. Find a place near you by using this map. There are no appointments available.
If a Personal Identification Number (PIN) appears on your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice, you may be able to renew online at www.plates.mo.gov.
To familiarize yourself with the format of the DMV written tests, you can try our Missouri DMV sample tests here.