A Michigan driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.
Before you can get a class C license in Michigan, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official Michigan DMV only. Our free Michigan driving test is all based on information available in the Michigan driver’s handbook. We put the free DMV driving test 2024 and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests. Our gamified learning methods and our Michigan driver’s test will help you easier to obtain knowledge than just studying the manual.
The written DMV test in Michigan is intended to assess your knowledge of road signs, road rules, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. The Michigan Driver’s Manual covers all you need to know. The DMV knowledge test has 50 questions. To pass the MI DMV written test, you must score at least 80%. (at least 40 correct answers).
You must pass this test in order to obtain your learner’s permit from the state. They want to ensure that you are familiar with and understand the laws of the road. The written examination is not very tough, but if you do not study and prepare correctly, you may fail the exam.
To obtain a passing score on the written test, you must answer at least 80% of the questions correctly. This implies you can’t miss more than ten of the 50 questions. It is up to the examiner’s discretion to determine whether or not you passed your driving skills test.
Yes. In Michigan, the written exam is multiple choice.
Before you go, review commonly asked questions about the written test and take free practice tests online. If you fail the test, you can retake it twice more at a later time.
To apply for a Michigan driver’s license, you must: Pass a written knowledge and driving skills test if you have never been licensed or if your license has been expired for more than four years; and pass a driving skills test if your license has been expired for more than four years. To take the driving skills exam, you will need a Temporary Instruction Permit.
Allow two to three weeks after submitting your application for your license or state ID card to arrive, but allow up to 45 days. If you haven’t received it within 45 days, please call the Department of State Information Center at Michigan.gov/ContactSOS or 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424), or visit a Secretary of State branch office.
You must pass a vision screening exam and submit proof of a valid Social Security number while renewing your driver’s license. If your driver’s license has been expired for at least four years, you will be required to take a written and road skills test.
In Michigan, a title transfer costs a basic $15. However, the cost of a title transfer can differ depending on a variety of factors, and there may be additional fees. You can get an instant title by going to an SOS office in person, however, there is a $5 fee for that service.
If you renewed your driver’s license or enhanced driver’s license at a Secretary of State branch office within the last eight years, you can renew it online or at a self-service station. Online renewal is convenient and saves time.
Customers can schedule an appointment for up to six months in advance or for the next day online at Michigan.gov/SOS. On weekdays, next-day appointments are published on our website at 8 a.m. and noon. Appointments from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. can be scheduled up to six months in advance.
To renew your driver’s license, please follow these steps:
To familiarize yourself with the format of the DMV written tests, you can try our Michigan DMV sample tests here.