An Alaska driver’s license (DL) is a card that gives you permission to drive a motor vehicle. Your full name, date of birth, mailing address, signature, photo, and physical description are available on the DL card. You have to bring the card anytime you drive a motor vehicle.
Before you can get a class C license in Alaska, you are required to pass relevant knowledge and driving tests to show your knowledge about the rules of the road and indicate your driving skills. The DMV permit test is a set of multiple-choice questions and is administered by the state’s official Alaska DMV only. Our free Alaska DMV practice test 2021 is all based on information available in the Alaska driver’s manual. We put the free practice tests and the official manual book to help you prepare well for these tests. Our gamified learning methods and our Alaska permit practice test will help you easier to obtain knowledge than just studying on the manual.
Who is required to have an Alaska driver's license?
Every person who drives a car on Alaska's roads and highways.
What is the age requirement to obtain an Alaska driver's license?
If you are over the age of 18, you can get an Alaska driver's license. If you are 14 years old or older, you can apply for an instruction permit.
Which documents are required to apply for an Alaska driver's license?
Social Security number
Proof of residence;
Proof of date of birth;
Proof of US Citizenship or Authorized Citizenship in the United States
One additional form of identification to confirm your name
Can I apply for an instruction permit if I am younger than 18 years of age?
Yes, if you are younger than 18 years old, you can apply for an instruction permit, however, a parent's or legal guardian's signature is necessary.
Are there any restrictions while driving with an AK provisional license?
Yes, there are some restrictions when driving with AK provisional license, you may NOT:
How many questions are on the Alaska written test?
The AK written test consists of 20 questions. To pass the test, you can miss up to four questions. Study the Alaska Driver Manual and practice on dmv-permit-test.com to prepare for the Alaska written test.
What is on the Alaska written exam?
Traffic laws, safe driving practices, and highway sign recognition are all included in the written exam.
I failed my written test. What do I have to do?
You must wait at least 7 days to retake the test. The examiner will tell you when you may return to take another test. You can retake the test the following day. Study the manual and practice before retaking the exam.
Which common mistakes will make me fail the driving test in Alaska?
Here are some common mistakes that make fail the driving test in Alaska:
How many attempts are on the DMV written test?
Within 12 months after paying the application fee, you have three attempts to pass the written exam, as well as three attempts to pass the driving test. You will have to restart the process again if you wait more than 12 months or fail any test three times.
How do I renew my Alaska driver's license?
If you need to change your personal information on your Alaska DMV license, you must apply in person. You'll need to fill out Form 478: Application for Alaska Driver License Permit or Identification Card and bring two forms of identification with you when you arrive.
Is the Alaska DMV open?
DMV normal hours: Tuesday and Thursday from 10:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Until 4:00 p.m., written exams are available. Only by appointment are road tests conducted.